Lady in Red

MJredsweater

1947

mjap013_1

Wedding Day, 2001

The above picture of me at age 2 indicates that  red has always been my favorite color. My first tricycle was red. My blogs have a red banner, and the sidebar text is red. I have always wanted a red living room, but only managed to have one after my first marriage ended and my three older girls had left home. My red living room makes me happy as does my yellow kitchen, my blue bathroom, and my green bedroom.

When I met my first and second husbands I was wearing a red dress. I wore red for my second wedding. I love wearing red hats. My favorite shoes ever were a pair of red suede boots. It is very easy to go shopping if you are looking for red, either in a thrift shop or a department store. Some years true red is only to be found in catalogs.

At job interviews with a man, I have worn red and gotten hired; with a woman, anything but red is the rule. My favorite coat is a bright red fleece jacket I inherited from my mom when she died 4 years ago. When I wear it, I sometimes feel like she is giving me a hug. When I meet someone in Manhattan, I am easy to find–straight silver hair wearing red. It’s sad how few New Yorkers wear red. An average city block might have 15 different red objects (not counting traffic lights or taillights). But I have walked as many as 8 blocks before encountering anyone actually wearing red. All New Yorkers should wear red every September 11.

Long ago, I decided to talk to any child I meet who is wearing red. Almost always the color choice is their idea, not their parents. No one seems to wear red by accident. I always compliment strangers who are wearing red. I am realizing we are a secret revolutionary cell:)

How much red do you have in your wardrobe?

About maryjograves

Children are my passion. I have 4 daughters, 5 grandkids under 5 with another on the way, 5 younger brothers, 11 nieces and nephews, 8 great nieces and nephews. I advocate a revolution for a child friendly US. I have been an editor, public librarian, social worker, and internet educator. Tweet @RedstockingGran @ChildrensWings
This entry was posted in Biography, Siblings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

