Radical Pacifist

I am not wholeheartedly a Hillary supporter or an Obama supporter. I voted for Hillary in the New York primary, and I am working hard and voting for Obama in November. Ending the slaught in Iraq is my absolute priority.

I am a lifetime member of the War Resisters League, a sixties nonviolent radical who never recanted. The only troops bumper sticker I would consider would be” support our troops, don’t let them enlist.” I love the song “Universal Soldier.” If we had a draft, we would not have Iraq.

When I have attended African American churches, I am always horrified by the number of former congregants who have died in Iraq. The voluntary army has offered better opportunities to African Americans than American society as a whole, so they too often fight our wars for us and die in much greater numbers.

Why don’t progressives ever question a “voluntary” army? It seems rather self-serving. Why not fight genuine life-and-death battles against racism, instead of absurd battles against an ally like the New Yorker? Of course, I am asking a rhetorical questions. The anti-Vietnam Movement only got started when white middle-class college students could no longer get graduate-school deferments.

About maryjograves

Children are my passion. I have 4 daughters, 5 grandkids under 5 with another on the way, 5 younger brothers, 11 nieces and nephews, 8 great nieces and nephews. I advocate a revolution for a child friendly US. I have been an editor, public librarian, social worker, and internet educator. Tweet @RedstockingGran @ChildrensWings
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

