Joining MyBarackObama

I want to share my first foray into the Obama online community. On Friday I established an account at mybarackobama, joined 10 groups, started blogging on feminism and the election, in order to help Obama supporters understand Hillary supporters and outraged feminists everywhere. Obviously the campaign has not thought through the dilemma of an influx of Hillary supporters into groups dedicated to bashing her. Too many posters are still looking in the rear view mirror, but lots of people are resisting that. I hope all my blogging and email helps clear the way for my less combative sisters. Each day the reception becomes more welcoming. Former Hillary supporters are starting their own blogs. I will include them in my sidebar.

It’s relatively easy to make an impact. Start a blog, join several groups, and send your posts to all of those groups Since Friday I have received 25 requests for friendship and mostly warm welcomes from individuals. I am learning that many Obama supporters were not aware of the media’s Hillary bashing. Once I help them understand, many are sympathetic to the pain of Hillary supprters. My mission has been to explain how many Hillary supporters felt abandoned by the Democratic Party. Howard Dean has only now returned to earth and noticed that media discussion of Hillary often resembles middle school. I have read more media articles on sexism in the campaign since Hillary conceeded than I did during the entire campaign.

I am not meek and circumspect. But I point out the destructiveness of Hillary bashing and refrain from Obama bashing. I am listened to because “she who laughs, lasts.” Besides I am a wise 62-year-old grandma who, if they get nasty, gently reminds them that my English husband is exactly one month older than Obama. Any woman who can entice a man 16 years younger to leave home, job, and family and swim the Atlantic for her ain’t a dried up old crone:) In general, it is a safer place than many progressive blogs where I sometimes feel I am contending for Hillary’s old job as Rorschch Test. Today I was sneered out for being “unintentionally funny.” The delusion that a women who blogs with the motto “she who laughs lasts” does not intend to me funny made my afternoon.

It has been a better experience than discussing politics with my 4 Obama-obsessed daughters in the last year. I am using a pseudonym because my family would prefer no one to know they are related to me. Who can blame them?

Each time it becomes a more welcoming experience, and I am quickly making friends. I urge you to try it.

About maryjograves

Children are my passion. I have 4 daughters, 5 grandkids under 5 with another on the way, 5 younger brothers, 11 nieces and nephews, 8 great nieces and nephews. I advocate a revolution for a child friendly US. I have been an editor, public librarian, social worker, and internet educator. Tweet @RedstockingGran @ChildrensWings
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

